track list

    1. Titanium Girl (3:14)
    2. Love In A Different Way (4:35)
    3. Sea Of Size (3:03)
    4. Pebble (3:51)
    5. Small Town Psychopath (4:53)
    6. Sweet Agitation (4:08)
    7. Playing In The Dark (3:27)
    8. Snow At 10:23 (4:27)
    9. Sugar Rush (2:15)
    10. This Reasoning (4:53)
    11. Fragment Pool (3:52)
    12. Put A Woman On The Moon (2:28)
    13. Small Town Psychopath (Version) (4:37) Bonus Track
  1. Sugar Rush (Live at Scala London)
  2. Noise In Your Head (Live at Scala London)


The Humans: Sugar Rush
Produced by Bill Rieflin

THE HUMANS – Toyah Willcox, Bill Rieflin, Chris Wong – release their second full length album SUGAR RUSH on 27 September in USA/Canada on The End Records and for the rest of the world on 2 October on Toyah’s own Vertical Species label. The 13-track album has already received critical acclaim, with a 4-star review proclaiming it “a hybrid of haunting and sweet, this album intrigues from start to finish”.

The band has dedicated three years to establishing their sound, songs and performance. Crystallizing what is at the core of The Humans’ manifesto, the album Sugar Rush bears a cinematic density with stirring moments of exhilarating energy (Sugar Rush) tender contemplation (Love In A Different Way) and brooding soundscapes (Sea Of Size). The album also features guest ‘Human’ Robert Fripp on all tracks. Sugar Rush sees further maturity in the band’s material and a solid set of songs which are experimental yet accessible, grungy yet vocal-led and as delicate as they are unnerving.

2011 US/Canada: TE213-2 (The End Records) CD and Digital Download
2011 Rest of the World: HUMCD02 (Vertical Species) CD and Digital Download

*Bonus tracks feature on Vertical Species digital release only (not US/Canada)
An additional four bonus tracks were made available as the Live At Scala London EP as a free digital download with a code/instructions inside the UK album artwork.