Minx Deluxe 2CD Edition out 26 July

May 25, 2024

Toyah’s first solo album ”Minx” was released in July 1985 on CBS’s label Portrait Records (home at the time to Cyndi Lauper), presenting a sophisticated sound and image for Toyah Willcox who to date had enjoyed eight top 75 singles and five studio albums with the band “Toyah”.

Originally recorded in 1984, this very special 40th Anniversary set expands the album into a deluxe 2CD edition for the first time. Pre-order now 

CD1 features the original album with two bonus tracks originally available on the 1985 cassette & CD formats only plus two non-album B-Sides, two extended 12” versions, and a 12” remix.

CD2 contains 16 rarities of which 14 are previously unreleased, including:

  • The unheard album session demo The Fight and previously unreleased 7” Remix of third single World In Action
  • Two previously unreleased home demos of Lou Reed’s “Perfect Day” and Alice Cooper’s “School’s Out”, recorded by Toyah and Joel Bogen in the spring 1984.
  • Two previously unreleased instrumental demos of “All In A Rage” and “Snow Covers The Kiss” recorded by Joel Bogen
  • Eight previously unreleased Backing Tracks of “Minx” songs, retaining their distinctive backing vocals by Toyah.

The two CDs are presented in brand new seven-inch deluxe gatefold packaging. An 8-page booklet features rare photos by Terence Donovan and Curator’s Notes by Toyah archivist Craig Astley detailing the origins of the bonus tracks and rarities.

”Minx” was produced by Christopher Neil, with a musician line-up featuring Peter Van Hooke, Ian Wherry and Adrian Lee who made up the majority of Mike Rutherford’s Mike + The Mechanics. The rhythm section of Killing Joke guested on a cover of “School’s Out”. Toyah collaborator Simon Darlow played keyboards and co-wrote several tracks including lead single Don’t Fall In Love (I Said). The album also features unique readings of Latin Quarter’s “America For Beginners” and Rare Bird’s “Sympathy”,the latter being the first time Toyah would be heard accompanied by an orchestra.

The 2020 translucent red vinyl reissue is also available from Amazon.


  1. Soldier Of Fortune, Terrorist Of Love
  2. Don’t Fall In Love (I Said)
  3. Soul Passing Through Soul
  4. Sympathy
  5. I’ll Serve You Well
  6. Over Twenty-One
  7. All In A Rage
  8. Space Between The Sounds
  9. School’s Out
  10. World In Action
  11. America For Beginners
  12. Vigilante


  1. Snow Covers The Kiss
  2. Kiss The Devil
  3. Don’t Fall In Love (I Said) [Extended Mix]
  4. Soul Passing Through Soul [Extended Mix]
  5. World In Action [Action Mix]


  1. The Fight [One-Take Demo] – previously unreleased
  2. Perfect Day [Home Demo] – previously unreleased
  3. School’s Out [Home Demo] – previously unreleased
  4. All In A Rage [Instrumental Demo] – previously unreleased
  5. Snow Covers The Kiss [Instrumental Demo] – previously unreleased
  6. World In Action [7” Remix] – previously unreleased
  7. America For Beginners [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  8. Soldier Of Fortune [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  9. I’ll Serve You Well [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  10. Over Twenty-One [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  11. World In Action [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  12. Kiss The Devil [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  13. Don’t Fall In Love (I Said) [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  14. Snow Covers The Kiss [Backing Track] – previously unreleased
  15. World In Action [Extended]
  16. America For Beginners [Nocturne Blue Redux]