Feb 26, 2021

A new Toyah track with Simon Darlow and Bobby Willcox features on the album release Miniatures 2020. The track Future Dreaming is what Simon Darlow describes as a  “theatre production in 3 parts that had to fit in a minute … from star birth to the peace of the infinite.”

Various Artists: Miniatures 2020
Label: The 62nd Gramophone Company
Catalogue Number: 62GC1/2
Distribution: RēR Megacorp
Release Date: 15 March 2021
Order now online

Former Mott The Hoople keyboardist Morgan Fisher released an obscure underground album in 1980 called “Miniatures”. It was effectively a collection of 52 “miniature masterpieces”, i.e. tracks of one minute length or less by a myriad of music legends and cult figures. Although at the time, the album flew pretty much below the radar it has over the years had a lasting and continually growing influence.

Having been profoundly influenced by the album along with many of my contemporaries and peers. Forty years later, a 40th anniversary celebration release will be issued on 15 March 2021 featuring a number of artists from the original and the much loved millennial sequel. Prog legends, experimental pioneers, post punk archetypes. In old terms it’s what would be called a triple album containing 124 Miniature masterpieces.  Initial release will be on CD only.

The album features such legends The Residents, Fred Frith, Stewart Lee, Billy Bragg, David Thomas, John Otway, R Stevie Moore, Peter Blegvad, Eyeless In Gaza, The Bevis Frond, Gary Clail, Adrian Sherwood, Henry Kaiser, Atilla the Stockbroker, Terry Riley, Half Japanese, Matmos, Apartment House, Tom Robinson, Bob Drake, Alternative TV, The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain, Two Headed Emperor, Bringers Of Change, Boo Hewerdine, Shiva Feshareki, Neil Luck, Chris Cutler and more.

You can pre-order the release online now