Sep 29, 2020

Film London has announced eight Patrons of the Film London Jarman Award, honouring and showcasing artist moving image practice, with one month to go until the 2020 virtual Award Winner announcement.

Toyah said:
I consider myself extremely lucky to have worked with Derek Jarman, not only on the movies Jubilee and The Tempest, but also to have been present in his personal life. To have seen first-hand his creative processes and above all to learn from him what it is to live by the rule ‘no compromise’. This is the Jarman that inspires me so much today, not only a great visionary, artist, writer and collector of ideas, but a man who saw beyond class, gender, even intellect, into the very important stories of each individual’s soul.

Spanning actors, artists, screenwriters and musicians, the Patrons’ work and support will be vital in the development and success of the Award. The Film London Jarman Award Patrons are:

  • John Akomfrah

  • Terence Davies

  • Rupert Everett

  • Dexter Fletcher

  • Hetain Patel

  • Tony Peake

  • Tilda Swinton

  • Toyah Willcox

The Patrons’ expertise, industry knowledge and connection to Derek Jarman in either a professional or a personal capacity will help to introduce artist filmmaking to a wider audience. They will promote and sustain the legacy of Jarman, whose inventiveness and bold ambition is seen in the work of artists practising today and those shortlisted for the Award.

The Film London Jarman Award celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of artist filmmakers in the UK. In the run-up to the announcement, the 2020 Film London Jarman award virtual tour will allow audiences to explore the work of the shortlisted artists online through venue partner websites, culminating in a special weekend of online events at Whitechapel Gallery, London on 14 and 15 November.

The winner of the 2020 Film London Jarman Award will be announced on 24 November 2020.