Feb 10, 2020

Toyah: Solo is a new 7 CD + DVD anthology of collected works by Toyah, released 28 February 2020 by Edsel Records


The first Toyah box set ever features six studio albums (Minx, Desire, Prostitute, Ophelia’s Shadow, Take The Leap!, Velvet Lined Shell) alongside 44 bonus tracks, including rarities, B-sides, collaborations, and several unreleased tracks, plus a DVD of promo videos and a brand new exclusive interview filmed in December 2019.

In 1985, after five studio albums and two live albums with her band, Toyah decided to go solo, and signed to Sony’s portrait label. The album Minx contained two hit singles, Don’t Fall In Love (I Said) and  Soul Passing Through Soul, as well as covers of Alice Cooper’s School’s Out and Rare Bird’s Sympathy. 1987’s Desire, featured appearances from Robert Fripp and Ron Wood and Toyah’s cover of Echo Beach, and now contains the previously unreleased outtake “Mesmerised. Prostitute (1988) was an arresting and fascinating departure from the pop formula, a trend continued by 1991’s Ophelia’s Shadow. In 1994, Take The Leap” featured new songs and intriguing revisits of several of her earlier pop hits. 2003’s “Velvet Lined Shell took Toyah back to her guitar punk roots.

Amongst the bonus tracks are Toyah’s collaborations with Tony Banks, Trey Gunn, German band Kiss Of Reality, Family Of Noise and This Fragile Moment. The lavishly-illustrated 48 page booklet features annotation about each album written by Toyah herself. Also featured is an essay on the period covered by the box by Toyah’s official archivist and compiler of this box set, Craig Astley. As Craig says: “eclectic is an often-overused word but is an accurate description of this intriguing and revelatory body of work. From unashamed pop and avant-garde to progressive rock and back to punk, the Common factors throughout are Toyah’s voice and lyrics but moreover, a sense of forging and following her own creative solo path”.

RELEASE DATE: 28 February 2020
FORMAT: 7 CD + DVD in wallets in 2-piece box with 48 page booklet

The confirmed track list is:


  1. Soldier Of Fortune, Terrorist Of Love
  2. Don’t Fall In Love (I Said)
  3. Soul Passing Through Soul
  4. Sympathy
  5. I’ll Serve You Well
  6. Over Twenty-One
  7. All In A Rage
  8. Space Between The Sounds
  9. School’s Out
  10. World In Action
  11. America For Beginners
  12. Vigilante

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Snow Covers The Kiss
  2. Kiss The Devil
  3. Don’t Fall in Love (I Said) [Extended Mix]
  4. Soul Passing Through Soul [Extended Mix]
  5. World In Action [Extended Mix]
  6. World in Action [Action Mix]

CD2: DESIRE (1987)

  1. Echo Beach
  2. Moonlight Dancing
  3. Revive The World
  4. The View
  5. Moon Migration
  6. Love’s Unkind
  7. Dear Diary
  8. Deadly As A Woman
  9. Goodbye Baby
  10. When A Woman Cries
  11. Desire

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Echo Beach [Surf Mix] Previously unavailable on CD
  2. Plenty Previously unavailable on CD
  3. Sun Up
  4. Re-Entry Into Dance Previously unavailable on CD
  5. Mesmerised Previously unreleased outtake
  6. Tony Banks and Toyah – Lion Of Symmetry


  1. Hello
  2. Prostitute
  3. Wife
  4. The Show
  5. Dream House
  6. Homecraft
  7. Obsession
  8. Let the Power Bleed
  9. Restless
  10. Falling to Earth
  11. Jazz Singers in the Trees
  12. Vale of Evesham
  13. Ghosts in the Universe


  1. Ophelia’s Shadow
  2. The Shaman Says
  3. Brilliant Day
  4. Prospect
  5. Turning Tide
  6. Take What You Will
  7. Ghost Light
  8. The Woman Who Had An Affair With Herself
  9. Homeward
  10. Lords of the Never Known

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Kiss Of Reality– Harlequin (Holy Day)
  2. Kiss Of Reality– Broken Special (The Island)
  3. Kiss Of Reality– Face The Space (Vocal Version) Previously unreleased
  4. Trey Gunn– Symbiotic

CD5: TAKE THE LEAP! (1994)

  1. Now I’m Running
  2. Lust for Love
  3. Invisible Love
  4. Name of Love
  5. Winter in Wonderland
  6. God Ceases to Dream
  7. Ieya [Revisited]
  8. Waiting [Revisited]
  9. Neon Womb [Revisited]
  10. Elusive Stranger [Revisited]
  11. Our Movie [Revisited]
  12. Thunder in the Mountains [Revisited]
  13. I Wanna Be Free [Revisited]
  14. It’s a Mystery [Revisited]

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Requite Me [Demo]
  2. Invisible Love [Demo] Previously unavailable on CD
  3. Waiting [Alternate Mix]
  4. It’s a Mystery [Weybridge Mix]


  1. Tears For Ellie [Demo]
  2. God Ceases To Dream [Remix] Previously unavailable on CD
  3. Poland (One Day On Earth) [Demo] Previously unreleased
  4. Now I’m Running [Remix]
  5. It’s a Mystery [Whispered Elixir Mix] Previously unreleased 
  6. Lust For Love [Demo] Previously unreleased
  7. Angel [Demo]
  8. Rebel Run [Revisited]
  9. Good Morning Universe [Revisited]
  10. Be Proud, Be Loud [Be Heard] [Revisited]
  11. Desire [Revisited]
  12. Obsolete [Revisited]
  13. Danced [Revisited]
  14. We Are [Revisited]
  15. Angel & Me [Revisited]
  16. Believe In You [Demo] Previously unreleased


  1. Every Scar Has A Silver Lining
  2. Velvet Lined Shell
  3. Little Tears Of Love
  4. You’re A Miracle
  5. Mother
  6. Troublesome Thing

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Experience
  2. Family Of Noise – Killing Made Easy
  3. This Fragile Moment – In Estonia
  4. Yomanda & Toyah – Fallen Previously unavailable on CD
  5. Dodson & Fogg – Drinking From The Gun
  6. Toyah + Peter – Nine Hours Previously unavailable on CD
  7. Toyah – America For Beginners (Nocturne Blue Redux) Previously unavailable on CD
  8. Toyah – Step Into The New World (from Invasion Planet Earth) Previously unavailable on CD


  1. Don’t Fall In Love (I Said) Previously unavailable on DVD
  2. Soul Passing Through Soul Previously unavailable on DVD
  3. Echo Beach Previously unavailable on DVD
  4. Fallen Previously unavailable on DVD
  5. Sensational Previously unavailable on DVD


  1. Toyah talks about her solo albums Exclusively filmed for this box set